Gravitational Ripples

Artist: lea porsager Tags: Permanent art Permanent konst

Gravitational Ripples is inspired by a cosmic phenomenon know as gravitational waves, predicted by Einstein as early as in 1916, but first measured by scientists in 2016. Gravitational waves arise when two celestial bodies orbit each other, spinning closer and closer together, unleashing energy so powerful that it creates ripples in spacetime itself. The memorial conveys this all-encompassing, pulsating movement of the universe. It is a meditation on the boundless forces of the universe, a reminder of the cosmic disruptions that bind and unite us.

On December 26, 2004, Southeast Asia suffered one of the most devastating natural disasters in modern times. A quarter of a million people lost their lives following a tsunami in the Indian Ocean. 543 were Swedish citizens. In connection with the 10 year anniversary of the tsunami, the Swedish government decided to create a memorial. In 2017, the artist Lea Porsager won the international competition with her earthwork Gravitational Ripples.

Gravitational Ripples is inspired by a cosmic phenomenon known as gravitational waves. The waves arise when two celestial bodies collide, unleashing energy so powerful that they create ripples in the fabric of space-time itself. In Gravitational Ripples, the cosmic waves are brought down to earth as a double spiral, carefully integrated in the landscape. A network of walkways enables visitors to move through the work, finding their own paths and experiences. In the centre, two oval bronze sculptures evoke the image of celestial bodies in orbit. With the consent of the relatives, the larger sculpture bears the names of the Swedish citizens who lost their lives in the tsunami.

As an earthwork Gravitational Ripples is subject to the ebbs and flows of time. Following the changing seasons, it will always be in flux, always in a state of transition.

Gravitational Ripples was created by the artist Lea Porsager together with Søren Assenholt, Synnøve B. Brøgger and Rasmus Strange Thue Tobiasen.